CAPRI (Naples) January 2: Capri, Hollywood celebrated the triumph of “Oppenheimer” which was feted with seven awards including Best Picture, Best Director (Christopher Nolan) and Best Cast; and six other awards went to “Barbie” whose director Greta Gerwig received the Lina Wertmuller award as Filmmaker of the Year; five acknowledgments were bestowed upon Bradley Cooper’s “Maestro” while Matteo Garrone’s “Io Capitano” – a Best Foreign Film Oscar shortlisted and a Golden Globe nominee – earned the Best International Feature of the Year award. This was announced by legendary music producer Tony Renis, President of the Capri in the World Institute whose board this year included such prominent artists as Bobby Moresco, Jim Sheridan, Mike Figgis, Terry Gilliam, Michael Radford, Noa, Alessandro Bertolazzi, Gianni Quaranta, Franco Nero, Mimmo Calopresti, in the final day of the 28th edition. “Oppenheimer “ also won the Best Adapted Screenplay award (to Christopher Nolan,) the Best Cinematography award (to Hoyte van Hoytema,) the Best Film Editing award (to Jennifer Lame,) and the Best Original Score award (to Ludwig Göransoon.) Acknowledgments for “Barbie” other than the prize dedicated to the memory of the festival’s decade-long honorary president Lina Wertmuller – included: Best Supporting Actor for Ryan Gosling, Best Original Screenplay for Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig, Best Costume Design for Jacqueline Duran, Best Original Song for “Dance The Night” (Dua Lipa), Best Production Design for Sarah Greenwood & Katie Spencer.“Maestro” earned a Capri Visionary Award for Bradley Cooper, while the Best Actress award was assigned to Carey Mulligan; the movie has also won as Best Makeup and Hairstyling, Best Sound Editing (Richard King, Steve Morrow, Tom Ozanich, Jason Ruder and Dean Zupancic;), The Capri Producers of The Year Award are Bradley Cooper, Martin Scorsese, Steven Spielberg, Fred Berner, Amy Durning, Kristie Macosko Krieger. More accolades included prizes for Best Actor for Colman Domingo (“Rustin”,) Best Supporting Actress for Da’Vine Joy Randolph (“The Holdovers”,) Best Animated Feature for “Spider-Man Across the Spider-Verse,” Best International Documentary Feature for “American Symphony” (Netflix,) Best European Documentary for “Posso entrare? An ode to Naples” by Trudie Styler. And also: Best Visual Effects award for “Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning, Part One” and the Capri Best Breakthrough Actor award for Charles Melton (“May December”).

The festival, founded and produced by Pascal Vicedomini, was carried out with the support of MiC (Dg Cinema) and the Campania Region and Special Partners Intesa Sanpaolo and Givova; the festival enjoyed the patronage of the municipalities of Anacapri, Capri, Naples, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranean, the Red Cross and Nuovo Imaie, with the participation of Isaia, Cremar and Radio2Rai.