Latest news


Netflix gets nine Capri Awards including Del Toro’s ‘Pinocchio’, ‘Glass Onion’, ‘All Quiet in the Western Front’ as well as Ana De Arana for “Blonde” and Alejandro G. Inarritu for his visionary “Bardo”.

‘Top Gun: Maverick’ garners three Capri Awards; Brendan Fraser was named the Best Actor, Angela Bassett Best Supporting Actress; ‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ is the Best Original Screenplay, and Diane Warren’s “Applause” is the Best Song

Warner Bros.’s King of Rock biopic “Elvis” was named Best Film and Baz Luhrmann received the Best Director Award at the 27th edition of ‘Capri, Hollywood – The International Film Festival’. The annual event was founded in 1995 by producer Pascal Vicedomini and organized in association with Capri in the World Institute. The Awards were announced on the festival’s closing day. At the prestigious Mercandante Theatre in Naples during the Gala sponsored by Intesa Sanpaolo, Terna, and Givova: ‘Honoring Cinema Masters.’

‘Elvis’ also earned other six awards including Best Producers, Best Production Design, Best Costume Design (Catherine Martin), Best Make-up and Hairstyling, Best Sound, Best Mix.

Winners were selected by this year’s Festival Board which includes its Honorary President Tony Renis (Golden Globe Winner and Oscar-nominated music producer) along with prominent international personages such as British director Terry Gilliam. Moreover, Oscar-winners Gianni Quaranta, and Alessandro Bertolazzi. Actors Franco Nero, Remo Girone, Daniel McVicar, and Sebastian Harrison. Italian screenwriter Enrico Vanzina and directors Valerio Esposito and Stefano Reali. The world-renowned Israeli musician Noa and Gil Dor; the USA soul singer Nicole Slack Jones; French Fashion Designer Christophe Guillarme.

“Everything Everywhere All at Once” earned as Best Original Screenplay Award (Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert). Regarding other technical prizes.

“Tell It Like a Woman” theme song “Applause” by Diane Warren was selected as Best Original Song.

The Capri Master of Cinematic Art Awards were presented to director Liliana Cavani, Michele Placido, and Franco Nero. The “A Life for Cinema Award” was feted to Aldo Signoretti (Elvis), and another “Visionary Award” was presented to actor-director and producer Luca Barbareschi.

“European Director of the Year” was named Ruben Östlund for “Triangle of Sadness” while “Best European Actors of the Year” are Riccardo Scamarcio (“Caravaggio’s Shadow”) and Emma Thompson (“Good Luck to You, Leo Grande”).

Cosimo Gomez (“My Name is Vendetta”) Francesco Carrozzini and Laura Samani were honored as the European Breakout Directors of the Year. Andrea Scarduzio (to be seen soon in “Mission Impossible” and “The Equalizer 3”). Francesca Tizzano (“Lamborghini” and the upcoming “Double Soul”), was honored as the “Breakout Actors of the Year”.

Capri, Hollywood, the ‘bridge’ festival connecting the Italian and Global movie industries is organized under the patronage of the Mediterranean Parliamentary Assembly and with the participation of RS Productions, Nuovo Imaie, and Isaia.