Latest news


CAPRI, December 26rd 2010

Promoted by the Department of Cinema of the Ministry of Culture and by the Naples’ Chamber of Commerce, as well as by Hogan, Honda Moto and American Express, in association with Alitalia, Rai, Hotel La Palma and Snav, Capri, Hollywood 2010 will be chaired by film directors Pupi Avati, Lina Wertmuller and Tony Renis (honorary chairmen), as well as by Marina Cicogna, Valerio Massimo Manfredi and Franco Nero, honorary partners of the Istituto Capri nel Mondo that has been organizing the event since 1995.

Among the highlights of this year’s edition, the Capri Legend Awards to filmmakers Dario Argento and Jerzy Skolimowski (Poland) and the Actor of the Year Capri Awards to Toni Servillo  and to the Italian-America actress Melissa Leo (Golden Globe nominee as best supporting actress for the feature film The Fighter).

Among the other highly anticipated acknowledgments, the Cult Artist Award to Peppe Servillo and the Global Artist Award to musician Stefano Bollani.

Oscar-winning filmmaker Paul Haggis  will receive the Capri Humanitarian Award bestowed by the association Artists for Peace and Justice, for his charitable work in favour of Haiti whereas his colleague Lee Daniels will receive the Social Award by Roberto Bolle, for his strenuous support to the fight against any kind of discrimination. Bolle, together with President Vincenzo Spatafora,  will present a documentary made in Africa. Another Social Award   will be awarded to film director Silvio Muccino (who will receive it by the Swedish actress Malin Akerman), for his support to aid campaigns for Africa, an interest that is also the central theme of his latest film “Un altro mondo”.

Film directors Luca Guadagnino and Luca Miniero will receive the International and Italian Box Office Awards for the incredible success of their films, Io sono l’amore (in the US the film has been nominated for the Golden Globe 2011) and Benvenuti al sud,  this year’s record shattering hit in Italy that will be presented not only by his director but also by one of the leads of the film- as well as a real star of Neapolitan comedy, Alessandro Siani, who will receive the Exploit Award 2010.  

The Cult Movie Award won by “Passione” by John Turturro, will be awarded to a delegation of artists including Peppe Servillo, Senese, Pietra Montecorvino, M’BARKA BEN TALEB, and the screenwriter Federico Vacalebre. The Lifetime Achivement Awards will go to Enrico Montesano and Sandra Milo, whereas Saturday January 1st, the Festival will honour the legendary Tyrone Power – represented by his daughter Romina Power (recipient of the Capri People Award for her artistic career) and by his granddaughter Romina Jr. Carrisi, who will make her debut as a photographer with an exhibition at the Centro Congressi of Anacapri. 

As to the music section, the Festival will acknowledge the talent of refined artists such as James Senes and Eugenio Bennato and his Taranta Power as well as a Caribbean icon, August Darnell aka Kid Creole and the Coconuts. And last but not least, two young and talented young women on their way to stardom, Nina Zilli and Irene Fornaciari.

Focusing on the screenings Capri, Hollywood 2010 features an astounding schedule with eight international premiers including Blue Valentine, starring the extremely talented Michelle Williams and Ryan Gosling, running for the Golden Globes; Biutiful  by Inarritu with Bardem and the surprise from Argentina, Maricel Alvarez (who will attend the Festival), London Boulevard with Colin Farrell, directed by the Oscar-winning screenwriter William Monahan, Conviction starring Hilary Swank opposite the extraordinary actress Melissa Leo who gives in a mesmerizing performance, I viaggi di Gulliver, starring Jack Black; 127 Hours by Danny Boyle; Due Date, a comedy featuring Robert Downey Jr, box office hit in the USA; Essential Killing by Jerzy Skolimowwski, the recipient of an award at the Venice Film Festival, Burlesque starring Cher and  Christina Aguilera; the docu-film Countdown to Zero, on the nuclear weapon rush and winner of the Capri Docu-film Award. As to the Italian premières, Into Paradiso by Paola Randi with Peppe Servillo and Gianfelice Imparato (who will be in Capri after the award received in Montecarlo), La prima notte della luna by Massimo Guglielmi, Febbre da fieno by Laura Luchetti (opening in January distributed by Disney), L’ultimo re with Moni Ovadia, as well as Diciotto anni il mondo ai miei piedi, by Elisabetta Rocchetti and L’affare Bonnard by Annamaria Panzera

The Festival will also pay a tribute to some “Capri’s Friends” who passed away in 2010: a Tribute to Dino De Laurentiis with Valerio Massimo Manfredi, a Tribute to Mario Monicelli with Enrico Montesano, Giuliana De Sio and producer Gianni di Clemente and a Tribute to Gianmario Feletti, with his friend and film director Antonio Capuano and Gianni Minervini.

And as it was the case in the past editions, Capri, Hollywood is not only films and music but also the occasion to meditate and discuss the most relevant issues of our time, through the  Workshop “Più Cultura = Meno Criminalità” (more culture=less crime)  chaired by Andrea Purgatori, and animated by several eminent speakers including the Italian-American film director Abel Ferrara, Mimmo Calopresti, Francesco Patierno, Sandro Forlani (director of the Department of Juvenile Justice for Campania / Molise), Maurizio Masciopinto (head of external relationships of the Italian Police); Leonardo Valenti and Barbara Petronio (screenwriters of the cult TV-series Romanzo Criminale-Sky), producers Antonio Avati and Fulvio Lucisano, sociologist Domenico De Masi, professors Paolo Macry and Giuseppe Ferraro.

The other awards will go to: Marco Chimenz (Cattleya)- Carmelo Rocca award as Italian producer of the year; Sara Felberbaum – Capri Italian Breakout Actress Award;  Moni Ovadia- “Capri Global Artist Award”, Antonio Capuano- “Capri in the World Award – Cinema”, Luca Lucini – Capri Romantic-Comedy Award 2010 for his latest feature film La donna della mia vita, Dario Faiella and Martina Codecasa- Capri Newcomer Award 2010,

But other artists will land on the Island to attend the Festival including Lory Del Santo, Serena Grandi, Gisella Marengo,   Pietra Montecorvino,  Lola Ponce,  Barbara Tabita and Nina Torrisi.

The event will be covered daily by Rai on the channel Rai Movie: every night at 20.30, starting from December 26th throughout January 2nd,   Pascal Vicedomini begin_of_the_skype_highlighting     end_of_the_skype_highlighting will present “Le stelle di Capri, Hollywood 2010”. The program will be also aired late at night on Raidue and everywhere in the world on Rai Internazionale

Organised with the support of the Regione Campania, the Province of Naples, the Towns of Capri and Anacapri, Capri-Hollywood 2010 is also sponsored by Sippic, Artbeat, Fondiaria-Sai (Sciraelli), Banca Popolare di Sviluppo and Miranda Ford.

For the complete programme of the event as well as for all related information: and Facebook where the Festival has already 14,000 friends.



– The President of the Italian Republic Giorgio Napolitano has had a bronze medal delivered to the Secretary General of the Istituto Capri nel Mondo, Mr.  Pascal Vicedomini begin_of_the_skype_highlighting     end_of_the_skype_highlighting, in recognition of the 15° Capri, Hollywood – International Film Festival. The award was accompanied by the President’s best wishes for the success of the event that will open on December 26th with a series of special screenings, to be followed by the official opening ceremony on December 27th in the world famous “Piazzetta” with the awarding of the “Capri Peace Award 2010” to the Fanfara della Polizia, ‘for its commitment in the promotion of the positive values of life, culture and legality through music”.